Fabulous Bitch

wicked-witch

During the summer, I had a run-in with a lady at the pool.  She was a regular fixture there, hanging out with a friend. Over the course of a few weeks, I became friends with both women, although I liked the friend and didn’t have much use for the lady. The friend confided in me that she, too, had grown weary of the lady’s friendship.

The run-in was a minor event.  On this particular occasion, the lady made a childish, stupid joke that annoyed me and I commented accordingly.  I was persona non grata from that point on.  I was, according to the lady, a bitch.

The friend and I became friends, and eventually the lady gave her friend the heave-ho.  We breathed a sigh of relief; we were too old for such silly, school-yard shenanigans. For my new friend’s birthday this past month, I got her a great card.  On the cover was a photo of two dogs wearing sunglasses, soaking up the rays. Inside the card it read:

Let’s celebrate your birthday like the fabulous bitches we are. 

As any woman can attest, being called a bitch, even by another woman, is nothing new.  Sometimes a woman is called a bitch because she was nasty, but more often than not, she’s called a bitch simply because she’s not afraid to speak her mind.

I’ve had a million occasions in which my assertiveness, refusal to accept abuse, ability to call out crap when I see it, and general lack of patience with bullshit was rewarded with the “Bitch” moniker. I  wear that moniker like a badge of honour.

Sometimes you have to wear the hat and remind them who they’re dealing with.

5 thoughts on “Fabulous Bitch

Leave a Reply

