Drive At Your Own Risk

The 401 is a major highway in Ontario, Canada, starting in the city of Windsor and stretching east to Quebec.  The Toronto leg, about mid-way going east, is considered the busiest in the world, and one that I’ve driven on more than one occasion grim-faced and white-knuckled.  Fortunately for me, most of my highway driving takes me in the other direction, toward Windsor, which over the years is proving to be as crazily treacherous as its eastern counterpart. Windsor is home to one of the busiest borders in the world, with about 1 billion in trade crossing back and forth between Windsor and Detroit, Michigan. There are over 30,000 trucks crossing that border daily, and they all take the 401 to get there.   Not surprisingly, there are horrific accidents which occur on the 401. Every summer, while I commute back and forth between London and Windsor to visit family, I’m tempted to kiss the ground every time I arrive at either end safely.

I’m not going to post photos of these accidents because they involve fatalities (and besides, I’m superstitious); instead, I thought I’d provide you with some rather amusing traffic misadventures which are real head-scratchers.

chnvqijelazegofkjjzh

I couldn’t even guess as to how a car ended up on a roof.

 

gcduqnzqtx2y1shcjqnw

Not a towing company I’d recommend.

 

weird_car_crashes_640_06.jpg

Wow.  Just…wow.

 

weird_car_crashes_640_16

I’m starting to think that getting a tow is a really bad idea.

 

weird_car_crashes_640_18

The driver wanted his roof safely removed from his vehicle.  Who am I to judge.

 

weird_car_crashes_640_23

This is how NOT to do a three-point turn.

 

weird_car_crashes_640_29.jpg

When a cobble road masquerades as quicksand.

 

wqxenlecr7r8lzmancsy

Again with the roof. Note to car:  You cannot fly.

5 thoughts on “Drive At Your Own Risk

  1. Pingback: Carnage Alley | I'd rather be living in Bora Bora

Leave a Reply

