Almost Summer

woman-with-air-conditioner

Me, after A/C. (You don’t want to know what I look like without it.)

So I’ve been playing russian roulette with spring, with each spin of the chamber hoping that hot weather doesn’t arrive before the A/C guys, from whom I rent air conditioning units.

I lost.

In true Ontario fashion, unseasonably cold temps gave way to middle-of -July get-in-the-shade-and-drink-beer heat.  And I had no A/C. And the heat is still on in the apartment building until the middle of freakin’ June.  An OH-EM-GEE moment, if ever there was  one.

So I cancelled my rentals and headed down to Rona’s first thing this morning to buy me a portable air conditioner.  It weighed as much as my car, but I managed to slide it out of the trunk and onto a dolley.

Only the dolley wouldn’t fit in the elevator. I sat on a bench in the lobby with my precious cargo pondering my dilemma when the building manager strolled by.

“That won’t fit in the elevator,” he said smiling. “Let me get you a smaller one.”

He turned around and went into the parking garage and brought back the proper dolley. ‘

“Here, let me.”  He lifted the heavy box up and plopped it down on the dolley effortlessly.

I could have kissed him.

IMG_0258

Portable unit chillin’ the bedroom

I went upstairs and emailed by neighbour, who came by about 40 minutes later and helped me get it the thing off the dolley and into the bedroom.  We stuffed the hose in the window and voila!  Nice cool boudoir.

I had thought of only getting one, but had second thoughts.  I HATE being hot.

“Could you come back with me to Rona’s to get the second unit?”

“Of course,” my nice neighbour said.

“And install it?” I asked guiltily.

“Of course,” he said again.

 

IMG_0260

New Window unit–note that the sheets are losing a valiant effort to block heat from the heat register.

So here I sit in my apartment on a 90 degree day, with two A/C units blasting, thinking how much poorer I am (those suckers are expensive!) but inevitably richer for having such nice people living just down the hall.

4 thoughts on “Almost Summer

  1. Aircon was absolutely essential in Turkey with August temperatures often over 100 degrees but here in England, well, a simple fan does the trick for those all-too-rare sultry nights!

    • Over 100 degrees would be torture, Yikes. Sounds like Arizona, where hear tell it can be 100 degrees in the shade. The problem here is the humidity–it can be a nice 23, but feel like 32 with high humidity.

      How hot does it normally get in England, Jack? Low 20’s? That would be ideal.

Leave a Reply

