Bath Time

I took Buddy the dog for a long walk around the hood the other day. He was thrilled. I think dogs forget that the “out there” exists when they haven’t seen much of it for months.

All that melting snow turned everything to muck, and most of it stuck to Buddy. Much to his dismay, this necessitated a B-A-T-H in the T-U-B. Buddy hates having a B-A-T-H and wonders why he can’t stay D-I-R-T-Y. I’ve tried to explain it to him, but he still prefers  D-I-R-T  to   W-A-T-E-R.

Apartment living makes the B-A-T-H a bit of a challenge.  I no longer have a laundry tub so I have to use the bathtub.  Once in, Buddy prefers to stand as far away from faucet (and me) as possible.  This time, though, I had a plan:  I got in with him.  Buddy never saw that coming.

He survived his ordeal, though, and once out of the porcelain container of death he was a happy camper.  He plopped himself on the towel and started falling asleep before his head hit the ground.

IMG_0199

8 thoughts on “Bath Time

  1. That’s so funny! Bella is the same in the tub. It takes two of us! She wants to be as far away from me and the faucet as possible. Last time we bathed her in the kitchen sink and it worked so much better. She is just 15 lbs so fits nicely.

  2. Your post reminded me of, when I was much younger and living at home with my parents, having to spell certain things so our dog wouldn’t hear a word that would either get him all excited (walk, leash, dog beach, etc) or panic (vet, bath). When my mother bought a cooking wok, we soon discovered that we had to start calling it the “oriental cooking device.”

Leave a Reply

