Then and Now

So here we are, a balmy 15 degrees (or around 50 Fahrenheit) and it’s the beginning of February. We were told that we’d have a mild winter this year, but still. You have to rub your eyes to remind yourself that you’re in Canada.

I’m reminded of one late March snow storm in the mid-80’s. It got up to around 27 degrees (or the high 70’s, Fahrenheit). The tulips had bloomed and everyone was out doing yardwork in their shorts.  We were told to expect a blizzard the next day, on April 1, but hoped it was an April Fool’s joke. It wasn’t. All the tulips died and we were so stiff from the previous day’s yard work that we didn’t have the wherewithal to shovel the mountain of snow that buried our cars for a week. We were not happy campers.

In other news, I’ve decided to start an exercise program.  This is big news because I hate this thing called ‘working out.’  My exercise program consists of getting at least  2 kilometres worth on the treadmill. Period.  I believe in starting small. 🙂

iu-20

This will never be me.

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “Then and Now

  1. We had a remarkably mild December but so far 2016 has been one storm after another rolling across the pond. It’s not cold exactly (it hardly ever is) but the wind is getting on my nerves! Good luck with the treadmill. I tried it for a year then gave up. I do the static bike now!

    • I may have spoken to soon about the weather. My phone app has the weekend temps at minus 22!

      Exercise bike, eh? I’ll have to give that a try. I’ve upped my exercise to include time on the rowing machine. Gotta share the pain with my upper body too. 😀

Leave a Reply

