Lighting Up The Season

Setting your house alight with Christmas decorations isn’t really a thing anymore, at least where I live.  I think the cost of hydro, plus plain old laziness, makes this a somewhat passè custom.  There are the odd folk who damn the cost and have amazing energy to showcase these monstrosities lovelies, however.

christmas-lights-best-christmas-lights-house-fairfield-ct-christmas-lights-on-houses-in-melbourne-christmas-lights-on-houses-in-sydney-christmas-lights-on-houses-in-perth-christmas-lights-on-hous

Lynch House.jpg

Can’t tell if the two houses above are the same house because I’m kind of blinded by the lights.

2079415610_cc5cacb02d

This one isn’t too bad, albeit a wee bit overdone.  Kudos to whoever climbed up on that roof to decorate the turret.

beautiful-christmas-christmas-lights-lights-love-it-Favim.com-248771

Ah…this is more like it.

194569646370732455PepO2P01c christmas-christmas-lights-house-lights-pretty-Favim.com-153413 christmas-christmas-lights-snow-trees-winter-Favim.com-128287 tumblr_lva3fuOk6v1qgewqco1_500_large

Disclaimer:  I have never strung lights on my house.  I have, however, stuck a coloured strobe in the ground to give the illusion of  house lighting.  I am not ashamed.

9 thoughts on “Lighting Up The Season

  1. As you should not be! I say to each his own. I don’t do lights either at the risk of breaking my neck to pay huge hydro bills. 😀 😀

    Thanks for sharing the pictures. Haven’t seen anything like this in ages.

  2. We haven’t put up lights for a few years but I enjoy it when others do. I remember when just about every house had lights. I think that stopped during the energy crisis in the 70s. Never was the same again. We had a neighbor who really did fall off his roof and break his neck while taking down his Christmas lights. After that, my husband and I decided to stop decorating our house. It just wasn’t worth the risk.

Leave a Reply

