Me vs Bat, Part 2

Volt Bat HouseCartoon

When we last saw our hero (me) she had hired a bat exclusion expert to seal up her house on Wednesday morning.  I had to bring Buddy to the vet that same morning so I phoned the expert to let him know I may not be home when he arrived.

“Oh,” he said, “I was going to phone you. I can’t come Wednesday because I didn’t have a babysitter yesterday and it backed up my appointments.”

“When will you be able to come?” I asked him.

“I’ll have to phone you. Thursday or Friday,” he said.

“When will you get here?” I asked him.

“I dunno–after I answer all my phone messages.”

“I see,” I said.

I hung up the phone, thought about the conversation, and decided to get someone who was a bit more reliable.  I sent him a text message and told him to forget it.

No, I don't want this man in my house.

Local Animal Control Guy

So what to do now.  I got on-line again and found a few possibilities.  The first one was a local  animal control guy who probably was a close relative of the hillbilly in Deliverance. Nothing against an uneducated, scary hillbilly, but I’ll pass.  The second one was a company with better pedigree and staff who still had their teeth.

This company came out today and conducted a bat assessment, which is a good idea if you don’t need the gold-plated $2,000 service.  Mike was his name and he was great.  He concluded that it must have been a one-off because he couldn’t find any bats/bat poo in the attic and couldn’t see any evidence of bat egress on the roof. ( He did, however, find mouse poo in the attic. Damn critters anyway.)

Mike told me I could seal up two potential entry points on the roof in the fall, to be on the safe side.  I paid my $200 and felt glad that I didn’t have a bat colony in my attic and waste a ton of money on an exclusion service I didn’t need.  I told Mike that if I get another bat it’s on his head.  I sent Mike on his way and noticed that I had an email from the bat expert I fired:  He lost my phone number and asked me to phone him.  I don’t think so.

He’ll read his text message eventually.

***

p.s.  I spoke to some on-line friends about my bat adventure and was amazed by the number of crazy people who think bats are “cute” and are terrified of mice  For the record, this is cute:

shutterstock_57341071-458x307

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is NOT cute:

images-4

 

6 thoughts on “Me vs Bat, Part 2

  1. Sorry about the trouble you’ve had but I’m laughing my guts out here. My apologies but…. 😀 😀
    I had an email from the bat expert I fired: He lost my phone number and asked me to phone him. I don’t think so. ~(~_*)~~

Leave a Reply

