The Atlantic Ocean Road

Awhile back I posted a story about the insanely treacherous Yungas road in Bolivia.  Here’s another adventurous drive, albeit not near as scary or dangerous:  The Atlantic Ocean Road in Norway.

tumblr_n33q8rKJw61ttad7io1_500

 

The Atlanterhavsveien, as it is known locally, is an 8-kilometer section of County Road 64 that cuts through a few archipelagos on its way to the mainland.  It is preserved as a cultural heritage site and is designated as one of 18 National Tourist Routes.  Not a road to drive if you’re sleepy or a little tipsy.

Quite the bridge.

An oft-photographed bridge on the Atlantic Road.

 

Not the place to be during a storm.

Not the place to be during a storm.

 

Otherworldly at night.

 

511182423

If I saw this on the route I’d scream like a ninny.

 

The Road has pedestrian paths for extra-close site-seeing.

Pedestrians are safe to sightsee on their own walkway.

 

Beautiful in the twilight.

Beautiful in the twilight.

 

7 thoughts on “The Atlantic Ocean Road

  1. I’d have to have a glass of wine before I attempted THAT neck of the woods…er insanely treacherous Atlantic whatsit. My stars. And I wouldn’t be driving so, I CAN have the wine. I would never go at night no matter how romantic or otherworldly and heaven help me, n.e.v.e.r. during a storm. Bottom line: I am neva goin der. Neva.

    Must have been a headache to build too.

Leave a Reply

