In Love with Faux

So I’m still painting my kitchen.  Yeah, I know.  I just didn’t like the result of my last attempt, so now I’ve started again–this time with Rustoleum Cabinet Transformations.  I wish I had started with this stuff first.  It’s a bit of a pain in the butt because  you have to scrub all the cabinets with the deglosser first (which eliminates the need for sanding) but hey,  if it looks as good as the pictures when finished, it’s worth it.  I chose a deep expresso brown, and so far so good.  The dark colour hides the blemishes in the wood and with nickel pulls it will look quite lovely when completed.

But (isn’t there always a but?) the expresso brown is begging for a granite countertop.  The laminate counter I have just isn’t cutting it.  Since a new counter is not in the budget (especially a granite one), I’ve been researching the possibility of painting the countertops.  Here’s a run-down of  the products  I’ve found:

1.  Giani Faux-Granite Countertop Paint.

Giani countertop paint

Giani countertop paint

The kit contains a primer, three mineral paints and a sea sponge to splotch on the faux granite, and a sealer.  The end result is beautiful, but I’ve read that the paint has lifted over time, and that it isn’t heat-resistant (a warm cup of coffee can leave a mark).

2.  Rustoleum Countertop Transformations.  This puppy is about $3oo bucks at Home Depot, so I wrote it off. Its application is also rather fussy with its shake-on stone flakes.  I don’t like the final look.

too much money and fussy application.

too much money and fussy application.

3.  Rustoleum Stone Effects.  Similar to the countertop kit, only using a stone-slurry type of product rather than stone chips.  It can get costly, though, since you need a fair amount of the sealant.

rustoleum-finished-countertop

A nice look but needs a lot of expensive sealant.

4.  The DIY Kit.  Many diy’ers are making up their own kit.  The lady who painted her bathroom vanity below used Kilz, some acrylic paints from Michaels, and a product called Envirotex-lite as the sealant:

the diy approach to countertop transformation

the diy approach to countertop transformation

The Envirotex-lite is a powder product that you mix and pour on the surface, creating a heat- and water-resistant glassy surface.  I think this is similar to if not the same product used on commercial bars.  It’s a little fussy to work with, since you only have about 20 minutes to prepare and pour before it starts to set.  It takes about 24 hours to cure.  Sure looks pretty though.

The beautiful finish of Envirotex-lite.

The beautiful finish of Envirotex-lite.

I’m leaning toward the diy kit approach, using the Envirotex-lite as the final sealant.  I also think I prefer the faux-granite look over the stone.  What do you think?

4 thoughts on “In Love with Faux

  1. My, you have the patience of a saint, Karen. All the photos look pretty good but I agree with you. As soon as I scrolled down to the Envirotex-lite, I leaned towards that one. Your house will deserve a paid tour once you’re done. Can I come? 😉

  2. Pingback: Granite or Laminate: What is the Price Difference? | Stone Display Rack,Tile Display Rack,Wood Tile Rack-Tsianfan Industrial & Trading Co.,Ltd

Leave a Reply

