My New Love

I’ve always loved the drapey, wrinkled, casual look of certain bedding that I’ve seen on the internet.  I didn’t know what fabric it was until I saw linen bedding from Restoration Hardware.  Now I’m a linen junkie.

Image

Linen bedding from Restoration Hardware

Not only does it look wonderful, it feels heavenly.  Yielded from the flax plant, here are some benefits of  this wonderfully versatile, organic fabric:

It is allergy-free, absorbs humidity and allows the skin to breathe, antistatic, antibacterial and low elasticity (fabrics don’t deform). Linen can be washed many times without alteration. It is able to absorb up to 20 times its weight in moisture before it feels damp (Natural Fibers).

I presently have three sets of linen bedding.  One set was purchased from Restoration Hardware, and the second set was purchased from Rough Linen. (I featured the bedding from Rough Linen a few months ago, and I would highly recommend it.) My last set of linen was a lucky find–I found a beautiful set made in Italy, including the duvet cover, from Winners (a Canadian discount outlet store) for a fraction of what it would cost in a regular store. I love it when that happens.

Now I have my heart set on purchasing more linen–this time made by  Bella Notte.

Whisper Linen from Bella Notte

Bella Notte linen, Whisper style

Honestly, I’d never get out of bed if mine looked like that.  Gorgeous.

Bella Notte linen, homespun   design

Bella Notte linen, homespun style

Bella Notte isn’t cheap.  At $300 or more per sheeting,  it might take a year before you have a complete bed.  But dang it’s beautiful!

4 thoughts on “My New Love

  1. Ah, creature comforts. Love ’em but haven’t tried linen. Must put that on my To Do List. Looks heavenly. Already I’m afraid I won’t want to get out of bed. I’ve already spent more time sleeping this year than awake—yucky flu.

Leave a Reply

