The Day of the Crone

As a single woman, I’ve always held a bit of a grudge against a society that only celebrates unions.  I’ve spent tons of money on bridal showers, wedding showers, weddings, while my personal accomplishments–getting my degrees, my first house, my first promotion, twice surviving cancer, surviving bipolar illness–barely even warrants a thatagirl.  No fair.

Not all is lost though.  I was reading on the internet awhile back about a “crone ceremony”:  a woman’s celebration of life and accumulated wisdom at 55.  Now that my 55th year is drawing to a close (could I be so close to 60??) I decided to have my own little celebration.

Unfortunately, I didn’t come up with this in time to throw a party; but I do have something else in mind.  A special crone ring.

Image

Ok, ok–I see that it’s a husband and wife photo, but I’m taking liberties.  These beautiful rings are made in British Columbia, Canada, by Touchwood Rings, and–as their name implies, they’re made of wood.

Image

Aren’t they gorgeous?

As long as you don’t swim or bathe while wearing them, they should last a lifetime.  Customers have a broad choice of woods to choose from, each having their own particular meaning.  They are made by taking veneers of woods and bending them around a form rather than simply drilling holes in blocks of wood. These bentwood rings, as they are called, are more durable and less likely to fall apart than their blockwood counterparts.  You an also choose inlays of crushed stones for an extra decorative touch.

Image

Koa wood with Jade inlay.

Water issues aside, the only problem with these rings as far as I’m concerned is trying to choose which one you like–there are literally thousands of choices.

Beautiful walnut with inlays

Beautiful walnut with inlays

I’m looking forward to receiving my ring, honed from Mother Earth in celebration of a over a half-century of life.

2 thoughts on “The Day of the Crone

  1. I love these, especially the ones with the inlays. So many possibilities. Why not have a ceremony? Love the idea. We don’t celebrate ourselves enough. If my fingers didn’t keep changing SIZES, I would like a wood one, instead I’m now opting for one of those s-t-r-e-t-c-h rings because of arthritis. Still, I love the pictures of the wood rings. They are gorgeous!

  2. I’d love to have a ceremony, but I want the ring before x-mas and my peeps have either fled to warmer climes or are too busy over xmas. And god knows I don’t want to wait. 🙂

    Arthritic fingers are dreadful; I feel for you. Maybe a torque-style ring would work; it’s open and has some give when putting it over your knuckles.

Leave a Reply

