Git Nekked

A blog about beautiful beaches wouldn’t be complete without a discussion of nude beaches.

I’ve never been naked on a beach (unless you want to count that time I lost my bathing suit top and that old guy with the binoculars waved at me).  I think it would be kind of fun, although I’m a scaredy cat and don’t think I would ever do it.

It’s not like everyone would stare at me.  Just because a beach is “clothing optional”, there are rules.  For example, Wreck Beach, in Vancouver, Canada, reminds you that “nude is not lewd”, and inappropriate behaviour such as gawking, staring, or making rude comments won’t be tolerated.  You also can’t photograph or film there.  Wreck Beach hosts events like the Annual Bare Buns Run, music festivals and food tests (all nude of course).

Bare Buns Run at Wreck Beach, Vancouver

Group Shot at Wreck Beach

I was surprised, actually, at the number of nude beaches in North America--there are hundreds.

If you want to extend your naturist inclinations beyond the parameters of the beach,  you have to visit the The Naturist Village in Cap d’Agde, France.  Known as the “world capital of nudism”, the self-contained village not only has nude beaches but nude banks, restaurants, and shops!  Visitors are required to report in at the main desk before entering, and then they can enjoy the village sans clothes for the rest of their stay.

Naturists enjoy the beach in Cap d’Agde

Apparently the locals are getting fed up with the tourists, who think the village is an invitation for one big orgy.  According to The Guardian,

“an explosion of libertarianism” is turning their 40-year-old resort into the “European capital of debauchery” and an “open-air brothel”. Their anger is directed at an influx of foreign nudists with, they claim, only one thing on their minds. The newcomers, they say, are more interested in orgies and naked exhibitionism.

Among the worst culprits, say villagers, whose numbers go from 300 in winter to 40,000 in the high season, are Italians. Local naturists, including many grandparents, said they were “shocked” by the sight [of the foreigners] copulating in public.  Florence Denestebe, 35, a local councillor,  is writing to the state prosecutor demanding public decency laws be upheld.

Those naughty Italians. 🙂

9 thoughts on “Git Nekked

  1. I’ve been to the Canaries a few times where nude bathing is accepted in a few remote spots. The Germans strip off at a drop of a hat, but the British (including me) a little more reticent. Well, it’s just not cricket!

  2. I (we actually, shouldn’t forget hubby!) love swimming and sunbathing nude, here in the uk on Budleigh Salterton beach, or on the many naturist beaches, both official and unofficial, on the French Atlantic coast. But we have only once visited a nude “resort”. Never again!! I like my nudity to be spontaneous, on a beach or occasionally someones secluded garden. But having tried the so called delights of going to a cafe terrace where everyone bar the staff was either totally naked or wore a hat/pareo/sarong which did not cover their genitals (the female staff were topless as far as I could tell, which made sense when serving outside, they wore bikini bottoms so that their money belts were resting on cloth!), I have to say that I found the experience far from “liberating”!! Swimming and sunbathing nude: yes. Wandering around some village in your birthday suite: no!!
    As for the Cap d’Agde, overrated, overpriced and overpopulated! (but I didn’t see all these fornicating Italians, that would have been amusing!)

    • Great to hear from someone’s whose been there! You confirmed my suspicions that dining with a bunch of naked people wouldn’t be that appetizing. 🙂

      I agree–nudeness should be spontaneous. I’ll have to put nude bathing on my bucket list.

      Thanks for dropping by and sharing your experiences!

  3. Your’e very welcome! Oh…and if you get the chance DO try skinny dipping or nude sunbathing, you’ll never feel the same about doing those things in clothing again!

  4. Wreck Beach is fantastic, I am a student at UBC which is right up the steps from the beach, on my breaks when the weather is nice, there is nothing better than getting nude and enjoying the sun! 😉

Leave a Reply

