Dental Holidays

Typical website for Dental Cosmetic Surgery

Say what?  Isn’t that an oxymoron?

Apparently not. People looking for cosmetic dentist work on the cheap are finding “dental holiday” opportunities on the internet.  Common destinations are Poland, Hungary, Thailand, and India.

I found this a little nuts, and I know from which I speak.  For those of you who’ve never experienced cosmetic dentistry, let me fill you in.  About seven years ago, I had cosmetic work done on all of my upper teeth.  Besides all the time it took to get the preliminary work done (like dental scans, dental molds, etc) It took two full days of sitting in the dentist chair to get the actual work done.  No way would I have been interesting in sight-seeing.

I can’t help but think that these folks should save the money they’re spending on hotel and air travel and apply it toward the cost of  obtaining the  more expensive but better quality cosmetic dentistry provided in their own country.  I’m not saying that the quality of cosmetic surgery in Poland, Hungary, Thailand and India is terrible; what I’m saying is that those cosmetic dentists which advertise dental holidays in those countries are probably suspect.  Here’s a little horror story from one such dental traveller to Hungary:

[Lisa Hewer] recently paid £3,500 for major dental surgery during a break in Hungary.

However, when she returned home, she was in extreme pain and her face was swollen. An emergency visit to hospital resulted in doctors draining an infection from her face.

Ms Hewer has since been told by the company in Hungary that, despite a five-year guarantee, she will have to pay for corrective treatment herself as it denies liability.

“It is devastating,” she said. “To put things right will cost £8,000. I may have to have all my teeth removed and wear dentures.”

Now that sucks.

2 thoughts on “Dental Holidays

Leave a Reply

