Dreams of Titanic Proportion

I don’t know about the rest of you, but I loved the move Titanic. When I first heard that James Cameron was making a movie about the famous liner and its tragic sinking, I was dismayed.  Being somewhat of a Titanic aficionado (and having a deep dislike of most of the movies that mainstream hollywood poops out),  I figured that the Titanic story would end up being something on the order of  Die Hard meets Intergalactic Iceberg from Space.

Well, it was and it wasn’t.  Although the love triangle was the stuff of fiction, Cameron really nailed the historical elements, blending fact with the fanciful.  And the iceberg was realistic too.  I really enjoyed the ending, inasmuch as one can enjoy a death scene.  The idea of lovers reuniting in an alternate universe is strangely comforting to my otherwise logical brain.

If I really like a movie, I’ll buy the dvd.  The dvd usually contains a “special features” section, which shows you how different scenes of the movie were made.  Sometimes, though, this can be a downer; it dispels the carefully constructed fantasy you just bought into.  Only in this fashion do I love being fooled.

For example, remember the beautiful grand staircase?  Here’s what it looked like in the movie:

Jack Greets Rose.

And here’s what it looked like in the studio:

Countess of Rothes walks down the "grand staircase".

Aaagh.  Green screen.  Why did I think Cameron actually built a replica?  I’m so bummed.

And somehow the drama of this:

Rose and Jack Saying Goodbye Before Hypothermia.

Doesn’t seem so dramatic when you see this:

Rose and Jack take a break from hypothermia with James.

Green screen and hypothermia breaks with the director.  Hardly the stuff of  make-believe.

But then,  I saw this:

Yay!  The Dream’s alive!

Now I can sleep again.

Happy April Fools’ Day, to all you fools out there.

2 thoughts on “Dreams of Titanic Proportion

  1. I’m with you about not wanting to have my fantasy bubble burst. I like the fantasy; that’s why I love watching movies. Since I rarely watch TV anymore or DVDs unless my daughter lends me one because I just MUST see it, I also don’t bother watching the ‘behind the scenes’ section. The want to keep the dream alive.

    Thank you for bringing this up. Nice post.

Leave a Reply

