A Word or Two about Bora Bora

It occurs to me that my readers may not know much about the object of my desire, so here’s some information.

According to Wikipedia:

Bora Bora is an island in the Leeward group of the Society Islands of French Polynesia, an overseas collectivity of France in the Pacific Ocean. The original name of the island in the Tahitian language might be better rendered as Pora Pora, meaning “First Born”; an earlytranscription found in 18th- and 19th-century accounts, is Bolabolla or Bollabolla. The island, located about 230 kilometres (140 mi) northwest of Papeete, is surrounded by a lagoon and a barrier reef. In the center of the island are the remnants of an extinct volcanorising to two peaks, Mount Pahia and Mount Otemanu, the highest point at 727 metres (2,385 ft).

Here’s a photo from Nasa, showing the island and its surrounding lagoon:

Image

And here’s a picture of the French Polynesian Islands, of which Bora Bora is part:

Image

One of the most luxurious resorts on the island is the Four Seasons Resort. Out of curiosity, I fantasized pretended that I was going for a holiday from February 1 to the 15th.  Just me.  The cost:  $818.00/night cdn.  And I get breakfast.  That should round out to about a $10,000 trip, give or take.  My grass-skirted butt just puckered.

Here are some pictures of that resort from their website, just so you know what I cannot afford:

Image

The over-the-water bungalow.

Image

the bedroom…

Image

my view….

Image

I don’t know what this is, but it looks fun.

And that, my friends, is a wee glimpse of my paradise on earth.

Now I must unpucker my butt and find accommodations that are affordable.  There has to be an ole` grass hut somewhere…

4 thoughts on “A Word or Two about Bora Bora

  1. Pingback: URL

  2. Pingback: Bora Bora: The Four Seasons Resort « turcanin. cu ţ.

Leave a Reply

